The Hummingbird Musical

My current work, The Hummingbird, is a solo beat musical. I play 11 characters. Wrote it. Book and lyrics. Composed the music. I am all of them in the show. It’s what I do. I have an incredible music collaborator Kevin Gerzevitz, who wrote with me and cleaned up my indescribable music messes. And a great development director David Ford. The show started out in residency at Berkeley Repertory Theatre The Ground Floor. I was very lucky. And very grateful. Then I completed the Hummingbird at The Marsh Theatre in San Francisco. The show is beautiful. I also lived the experience. A brutal heartbreaking experience. The show opened in October 2021 commissioned by The Marsh and is slated for a run in SF in 2022. And then… a tour at union houses …. because I’m determined it will have one. Now I have to figure all of this out. Am I a theatre producer? Do I need one? Yes. Do I make websites? No. Do I need one? Yes. Have I told you what the show is about? No. I’m just letting you know I have to do this … today… showbiz is a multi hat wearing experience. Hope you like hats. Kathryn Keats The Hummingbird photo by Dianne Woods

Leave a comment